Upcoming Events


20th TFM Tomato Trot: FINAL Results

The 20th TFM Tomato Trot was a huge success. Thank you to all participant...

Lilyfontein Newsletter 1.6: 27 February 2015

E-mail Print PDF

27 February 2015

Dear Parents

All parents who are currently on debit order whose banking details have changed since filling in the original debit order form and have not yet notified the finance department, can you kindly do so urgently.  If any contact details have changed ie telephone, cellphone numbers and email addresses etc, please notify us.  All information can be sent to : This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it or This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it .

Parents are reminded of our SGB Elections which will be held in the school hall on Tuesday, 17 March 2015 at 18h00.  Nomination Forms are available from the front office.

The TFM Tomato Trot added nearly R150 000 to the Lilyfontein coffers. A huge thanks to our sponsors (TFM, Twizza, Crossways Tops and SPAR, Aldersons Ambulance and Day Max Security), and to our PTA which took a R10,000 sponsorship and through hard work turned it into R22,000 profit.

MY SCHOOL CARD Competitions
8 prizes and 8 chances to WIN. The following 8 shops have offered amazing prizes: Wimpy Beacon Bay, Wimpy Vincent Park, Postnet Vincent, Bonnie Doon Pharmacy, Chez Francois, Maclears Stationery, Ninadeli and Nina’s Pizzeria.
Anyone with a MySchool card can go to any of the 8 shops, spend some money there, write their name, school and contact details on the back and stick their till slip into the competition boxes which will be at each of the shops involved. 

Every swipe brings Lilyfontein School cash! If you don’t have a card, apply for one in March and stand a chance to win a MY SCHOOL T-shirt. Contact This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it for more information or download the application form from our website.

Francois Le Roux (HA Man) an internationally known musician will be holding an interactive show at the school next Friday, 6 March at 9.10.  Parents are invited to attend at a cost of R10 each.  Names and cash can be sent to the finance office by Thursday, 5 March.


Congratulations to the 20 learners who set new records at the Inter-house athletics day:
Event Record Holder
Boys U19 Long Jump Pit 1 Sebastian Schultz
Girls u/10 1200m Josie Price
Boys u/11 1200m Joshua Niemand
Girls u/12 1200m Kirsten Nash
Boys u/12 Shot-putt Pit 1 Wesley Onions
Boys u/11 Long Jump Pit 1     Joshua Niemand
Girls u/13 1500m Anya Nash
Boys u/13 High Jump Seth Truter (matched the record)
Girls U19 1500m Cherise Oelofse
Boys U19 1500m Sebastian Schultz
Boys u/15 High Jump Pit 1      Mattheus vd Walt
Boys u/12 150m Ross Nicholson
Girls u/17 100m Unam Langa
Girls u/13 Long Jump Pit 2       Anya Nash
Girls u/17 Shot Putt Pit 1 Gandhi Jafta
Boys u10 100m Jahdiel Chitondwe
Girls u/11 100m Sibulele Kentane (matched the record)
Boys u/11 High Jump Pit 1 Abulele Kentane
Girls u/11 High Jump Pit 2         Naledi Chinamasa (matched the record)
Girls u/17 200m Kelsey Yelseth
Boys u/10 4x 100m Relay Orange
Boys u/12 4x 100m Relay Navy
Girls u/15  4 x 100m Relay Navy
Girls u/17  4 x 100m Relay Navy
Boys U19 4x 100m Relay Navy 


T20 Shield
1st vs Gonubie High
  • Lilyfontein 131/9 in 20 overs. Mitchell Cook 26, Uzile Ngumbela 21.
  • Gonubie 36 all out. Jordan Ansley 4/15 in 4 overs, Luntu Jafta 3/20 in 4 overs.
  • Lilyfontein won by 103 runs.
1st vs Northern Region
  • Northern Region 79 all out. Mitchell Cook 4/29 in 8 overs, Junior Mbulwana 3/13 in 9 overs.
  • Lilyfontein 43 all out. 
  • Lilyfontein lost by 36 runs.
2nd vs  Alphandale
  • Lilyfontein batted first and scored 52 all out in 18.4 overs. Khanya Mkutshulwa 12 Not Out.
  • Alphendale replied with 54/4 in 10 overs. Uzile Ngumbela 3/8 in 4 overs. 
  • Lilyfontein lost by 6 wickets
U14A vs Selborne A
  • Lilyfontein 18 all out
  • Selborne 19/0. 
  • Lilyfontein lost by 10 wickets
U15A vs Northern Region u15A
  • Lilyfontein 122 all out
  • Northern Region 120 all out. 
  • Lilyfontein won by 2 runs
U13A vs Grens A
  • Lilyfontein 91/8 in 20 overs. William Emslie 23.
  • Grens 38 all out. Sid Bosman 3/4 in 2 overs, Lilitha Reed 2/4 in 3 overs and Luke Timmins 2/13 in 2 overs. 
  • Lilyfontein won by 53 runs.
U11A vs Selborne B
  • Selborne 100 all out.  Owethu Mtukushe 3/13 in 5 overs, Josh Niemand 2/11 in 5 overs, Jesse Crane 2/10 in 3 overs.
  • Lilyfontein 99 all out. Owethu Mtukushe 28, Joshua Niemand 18, Pawu Vena 10*
  • Lilyfontein lost by 1 run
U10A vs George Randell
  • Lilyfontein 59/6 in 20 overs. Connor Timmins 16, Jahdiele Chitondwe 12
  • George Randell 63/3 in 17 overs. Seth Wiggil 2/14 in 4 overs. 
  • Lilyfontein lost by 7 wickets
Country District Team
Well done to Mila Pascoe, Jordan Marr, Tiaan Potgieter, Luke Wood, Lily Mellin and Samantha Simmons who were selected to represent the Amathola Country District Swimming Team which will be participating in a Gala in Grahamstown on Saturday, 14 March.

Thank you.
Yours sincerely

Lilyfontein Robotics Club

Angus Pietrucci, Daniel Marais and
Nathan Muller get to grips with their first
project at the new Robotics Club

27 Feb Interact Cake Sale
Gr 2 Sleepover
2 -6 Mar PP Assessment Week
3 Mar Gr.12 Adventure Day
4 Mar Snr. & Jnr. Leaders supper
5 Mar FP Interhouse Athletics Day
6 Mar Jnr Leaders social
Hospitality Cake Sale
7 Mar Band/Choir Day
9 -13 Mar Gr.8 Camp
12 Mar Gr 1 Sleepover
13 Mar Gr.11 Cake Sale

27 Feb Primary Tennis vs Stirling (H)
28 Feb High School Cricket vs Kings
U10 & U13 Cricket vs Cambridge
2 Mar 2nd Cricket vs EL Science College (H)
3 Mar U14 Cricket vs Selborne B (A)
4 Mar Cricket:
U10A vs Dale  (A)
U11A vs Sakhile (H)
U13A vs Stirling (A)
Snr Girls Tennis vs Clarendon (H)
5 Mar U13B vs Southernwood (H)
6 Mar U9A Cricket Bye
Primary Tennis vs Grens (A)
9-13 Mar  Gr.8 Camp
9 Mar 2nd Cricket vs Grens (H)
11 Mar Interschools Athletics at Beaconhurst
U11A Cricket Bye
U13A Cricket vs Sakhile (A)
Snr Girls Tennis vs Hudson (H)
13 Mar U9A Cricket vs Selborne (A)
U15 vs Cambridge 16h00 (A)
U13 vs Fort Beaufort 12h00 (A)
U13 vs Tarkastad 16h20 (A)
14 Mar Rugby
U13 vs Grens 8h00 (A)
U13 vs Kuswag 14h40 (A)
U15 vs Hudson 10h20 (A)

PP = Pre-Primary
FP = Foundation Phase
IP = Intermediate Phase
HS = High School
w w w . l i l y f o n t e i n . c o . z a


JA slide show